Pre-Sales License Courses
The Real Estate School of LCAR offers two pre-sales license courses, Real Estate Fundamentals and Real Estate Practice, which prepare students to pass the Pennsylvania State Licensing Examination. Our classes are held Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6 pm to 9 pm, and Saturdays from 8:30 am to 12:30 pm.
To obtain a Pennsylvania State Real Estate Salesperson License, an applicant must be 18 years of age, and successfully complete 30 hours of education in Real Estate Fundamentals and 45 hours of education in Real Estate Practice. When the courses have been completed, the applicant must earn a passing grade on the State Licensing Exam, which is administered by P.S.I.
Real Estate Fundamentals provides students with an understanding of the language, principles and laws which govern the real estate business.
Real Estate Practice is designed to acquaint students with the basic techniques, procedures, regulations and ethics involved in a real estate transaction.
Tuition for Fundamentals is $210 and Practice is $225, payable at the first class session. Tuition will not be refunded after the first class. The textbook used for this course is “Modern Real Estate Practice in Pennsylvania” and may be purchased at the first class session, at a cost of $40 plus tax. This textbook is used for both the Real Estate Fundamentals and Real Estate Practice courses.
Broker Series Courses
The Real Estate School of LCAR’s Broker Series provides essential training for licensees to meet the educational requirements for a PA Real Estate Broker’s License. Course topics, such as Law, Finance, Brokerage, Investment and Appraisal cover the necessary issues when licensees are entertaining a move from the sales segment of the industry to potentially handling the management and administration of a brokerage.
To obtain a Pennsylvania State Real Estate Broker’s License, an applicant must be at least 21 years of age, and have completed 240 hours (16 credits) of classroom education, including the required courses of Brokerage & Office Management and Real Estate Law. The applicant must also have been engaged as a licensed real estate salesperson for at least three years.
Broker Series classes are held Mondays and Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., unless otherwise noted.
Tuition fees are $100 per credit ($200 per two credit course). Full tuition is payable at the first class session. Tuition will not be refunded after the first class. Textbook titles and costs vary from course to course.
Many of our Broker Series courses have also been approved by the PA State Real Estate Commission as continuing education credit as well.
Continuing Education Courses
When the Pennsylvania State Real Estate Commission made renewal of a real estate license contingent upon the completion of continuing education, The Real Estate School of the Lancaster County Association of Realtors was ready to tackle the challenge.
The School has developed a program that allows students to customize their training. Students have the opportunity to choose from several topics of interest to satisfy their elective 14 hours of course study.
The result is a licensee who is able to meet the challenges and demands of the real estate marketplace in the 21st Century.
The Real Estate School of the Lancaster County Association of Realtors understand the value of a professional designation. Top producers and industry achievers don’t rest with the lessons they learn in the field. Most look to gain an edge and stay one step ahead, in terms of education, by earning a professional designation.
The Real Estate School of LCAR, in joint ventures with the Pennsylvania Realtors Institute and other trade organizations, regularly provide designation courses.