January 8, 2020

Upon motion by Joe Younger, second by Tom Weik, the minutes of the December 11, 2019 Directors’ Meeting were approved.

The Directors reviewed information from Bright MLS regarding Bright’s Annual Shareholder AE Summit scheduled for January 21st and a survey asking participants to share their thoughts on the 2020 housing market.

Tom Blefko presented a report from the Quarterly Forum which included the presentation of the Elaine Vehovic Volunteer of the Year Award to Jeff Peters of ReMax Pinnacle. In addition, Richard Boas, Jr. conducted the election of Officers and Directors for 2020 and the following individuals were elected:  President-Elect, Tom Blefko; Secretary, Greg Bardell; Treasurer, Tom Weik; and Directors Jamie Clinton, Bron Irwin, Logan Hutton, Shad Lowman, Wendy Stauffer, Cal Yoder and Glenn Yoder. Ferne Silberman will serve as President and Richard Boas, Jr. as Immediate Past President. The following Directors will continue to serve their elected terms:  Paul Berdiner, Corinn Kirchner and Joe Younger.

The Directors moved to Executive Session to review the Task Force recommendation regarding Team Legislation proposed in HB 1572. In addition to Ferne Silberman and Richard Boas, Jr. who served on the Task Force, Doug Byler, Gretchen Karr and Nancy Sarley were also in attendance.

After a lengthy discussion including questions regarding meetings held with both PAR representatives and legislative representatives, upon motion by Tom Weik, second by Corinn Kirchner, the Directors concluded that they cannot support the Bill as it is currently written. The main issues with the proposed legislation have been communicated to both PAR and the General Assembly’s Professional Licensure Committee.

The Community Partnerships Committee reported that the Fourth Quarter Michael Mastros Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Rose Madar of Berkshire Hathaway HomeSale. Staff also noted that the 31st Annual Charity Dinner raised $30,000 for TLC, and the 32nd Annual Charity Dinner has been scheduled for October 8th at Fireside Tavern’s Willows Ballroom.

The Directors reviewed membership statistics and staff presented the applications, indicating that they have all been completed in full with everyone applying for an appropriate classification of membership. Upon motion by Tom Weik, second by Richard Boas, Jr., the Directors approved the new members.

The Association’s Treasurer’s Report and Real Estate School Report were reviewed; and upon motion by Richard Boas, Jr., second by Glenn Yoder, they were accepted.

The Directors received information regarding the recently adopted “Clear Cooperation Policy” including concerns expressed at the national level that the policy, as written, gives a “clear advantage” to the large brokerage companies when encountering sellers requesting such listings.

Upon motion by Joe Younger, second by Tom Weik, the Directors approved the 2020 Association Committees as appointed by President Silberman.

Upon motion by Richard Boas, Jr., second by Glenn Yoder, the Directors granted signature authority on behalf of the Association to any two of the following officers:  president, executive vice president and treasurer.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

NOTE:  These minutes have not yet been approved by the LCAR Directors; corrections will follow, if necessary.

Lancaster County Association of Realtors®

Lancaster County Association of Realtors®